Press "Enter" to skip to content

Special election to replace Fletcher

On May 24 the San Diego County Board of Supervisors voted for a special primary election on Aug. 15 for the Fourth Supervisorial District vacated by Nathan Fletcher.

This comes after a no confidence vote for District 4 supervisor Fletcher in April. Fletcher resigned on May 15, after completing an out-of-state treatment facility for post traumatic stress, childhood trauma, and alcohol abuse. Fletcher also suspended his planned run for state Senate after admitting “personal mistakes” with a Metropolitan Transit employee, who was then fired and filed a lawsuit against Fletcher alleging sexual assault and harassment.

Fletcher denies the charges.

With nearly 400,000 voters in District 4, voters will receive a ballot in the mail the week of July 16 for the August election.

The person elected will fill District 4’s vacant seat for the remainder of the current term ending in January 2027. If no candidate receives a majority vote at the Aug. 15 election, then a special general election would be held on Nov. 7, 2023. Only those who live in the district can vote in the election.

As of now, the Registrar of Voters shows the following people running for Supervisorial District 4: Amy Reichert (R), Janessa Goldbeck (D), Edward Walker, and Monica Montgomery Steppe (D).

Reichert, from La Mesa, ran against Fletcher in 2022 and is the co-founder of Reopen San Diego. Goldbeck is a Marine veteran, the CEO of Vet Voice Foundation, a national veterans advocacy group who ran for Congress in 2020 against Sara Jacobs. Montgomery-Steppe, is currently San Diego District 4 council member.

Early voting begins July 17 at the Registrar of Voters office in Kearny Mesa from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, or any of the Registrar’s official ballot drop boxes around the district starting Tuesday, July 18 through Election Day. The Registrar encourages voters to take advantage of the convenience of voting by mail.

Important dates:

July 6: Voter information pamphlets start going out to registered voters in District 4.

July 16: Ballots go out to registered voters in District 4.

July 17: Early voting begins.

July 18: Twenty-seven ballot drop box locations open through Aug. 15.

July 31: Voter registration deadline.

Aug. 1: Those who missed registration deadline can register and vote at the Registrar’s office or any voting center through election day.

Aug. 15: Last day to vote.

Sept. 14: Deadline to certify election.

District 4 includes the communities of Lemon Grove, La Mesa, North Clairemont, Hillcrest, Balboa Park, North Park, Bankers Hill, Old Town, Mission Hills, Normal Heights, University Heights, Oak Park, Webster, Valencia Park, Encanto, Bay Terraces, Paradise Hills, Skyline, Kearny Mesa, Clairemont Mesa, Linda Vista, Birdland, Serra Mesa, Civita, portions of Grantville, City Heights, Rolando, Azalea Park, Chollas Creek, Rolando Park, Kensington-Talmadge, Mid-City, Montezuma Mesa, SDSU Mission Valley, Crest-Dehesa, Spring Valley, Casa de Oro, Mt. Helix, and Rancho San Diego.

Be First to Comment


    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Call Now ButtonCall Us
    %d bloggers like this: