Press "Enter" to skip to content

Historic Preservation Commission


  • 5:00 pm
  • First Tuesday of each month
  • City Manager’s Conference Room
    La Mesa City Hall
    8130 Allison Ave.
    La Mesa, CA 91942

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings and minutes are available following approval.
Agendas and Minutes


NameTerm Expires
Ken D’Angelo (HS)June 30, 2020
Marcia Tolin (R)June 30, 2020
Curt Sherman (R)June 30, 2018
Claude Hart (HS)June 30, 2018
Jan Wilcox (R)June 30, 2019
Donna Niemeier (HS)June 30, 2019
Randy Swanson (R)June 30, 2019

Table Key

  • HS – Nominated by the La Mesa Historical Society
  • DP – Design Professional
  • R – Resident


The Historic Preservation Commission consists of seven members appointed by the mayor with the approval of the City Council. Members of the commission shall have the following qualifications:

  • Two are registered voters and are licensed architects, landscape architects, city planners, urban designers, architectural historians or individuals practicing structural or interior design
  • Two are current resident electors of the City of La Mesa
  • Three are registered voters recommended by the La Mesa Historical Society

Members are appointed for four-year terms and are subject to the city’s Conflict of Interest Code. Members receive $50 per meeting as compensation for their attendance at the duly held Commission meetings.


The commission:

  • Acts as an advisory body to the City Council on matters of historic preservation, including review of development plans and the La Mesa Historic Resources Inventory
  • Nominates structures to the register of designated landmarks
  • Encourages private efforts to protect historic resources
  • Provides advice and guidance to property owners of historic resources
Call Us