Press "Enter" to skip to content

Early results setting stage

As of June 8, the primary 2022 election showed California state Governor Gavin Newsom in the lead at 52.9% with Brian Dahle trailing behind him at 22.5%. La Mesa resident Shirley Weber held the lead as Secretary of State incumbent at 56.2% with Rob Bernosky behind her at 26.9%.

At the federal level, incumbent Congressman Darrell Issa was leading at 59% with former Santee City Councilman Stephen Houlahan trailing at 30.6% for the 48th Congressional district. The newly redrawn district covers a good deal of the former 50th district and stretches across East and North San Diego County.

State Assembly incumbent Brian Jones held the lead in the newly redrawn 40th state assembly district at 53.9% to Joseph Rocha at 46.1%. The 40th district includes portions of East county which were formerly in district 38.

Former La Mesa City Councilwoman Akilah Weber, who recently took office in the 79th state assembly district in a mid-term election, was leading as the incumbent at 63.8% to Corbin Sabol at 24%. The 79th state assembly district includes part of East County including La Mesa, Lemon Grove and Spring Valley.

Georgette Gomez was leading in the race for the 80th state assembly district, which includes all of Chula Vista. Gomez held 35% of votes to David Alvarez’ 31.9%.

San Diego County Board of Supervisors District 4 incumbent Nathan Fletcher held a strong lead at 61.9% over challenger Amy Reichert who trailed with 29% of votes. That district includes portions of central San Diego as well as La Mesa, which was shifted out of East County’s District 2.

Undersheriff Kelly Martinez was in the lead for San Diego county sheriff at 38% of votes with John Hemmerling behind her at 20% and five other candidates behind him.

Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District 1 had Desiree Klaar in the lead with 55.3% of votes; GrossmontCuyamaca Community College District 2 had Debbie Justeson in the lead with 63.6% of votes.

The final 2022 primaries tally will not be available until seven days after June 7 due to mail-in ballots which will be counted if they were postmarked by election day.

Early results setting stage

function QRC_WOOCON(){var qr = window.qr = new QRious({
element: document.getElementById(“QRC_Com_COntent”),
size: 100,
value: “”
jQuery(“#download_QRC_con”).click(function() {
download(jQuery(“#QRC_Com_COntent”).attr(“src”),”Early results setting stage.png”,”image/png”);
Source: East County Californian

Be First to Comment


    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Call Now ButtonCall Us